Account
Your Chamber Membership Info Community Info Tourism Directory Listings News Events Committees Links
  •  
 
 
Things To Do

Things To Do in South Temiskaming!

 

There's something for everyone in South Temiskaming.  Whether you are interested in museums and galleries or sports and nature, we've got it all.

Download our Tourism Brochure for more information. 

 

See below for a list of:

Local Flavours & Attractions

Marinas

Museums, Galleries & Entertainment

Parks, Hiking & Tours

Pools & Beaches

Sports & Recreation

ATV'ing in South Temiskaming

 

Please contact our Tourism Information Centre at 866-947-5753 for additional information on these and many more activities, attractions and tours available throughout Temiskaming!

Local Flavours & Attractions

Image result for 701 Steam Engine at ONE Station

701 Steam Engine at ONR Station

The old Temiskaming Locomotive 701 has been restored and displayed downtown – it was the last steam engine to prowl the ONTC tracks.

 

(705) 544 2400

Third Avenue, Englehart

Image result for amber's new liskeard

Amber's

Amber’s is situated in the heart of the business section of Temiskaming Shores. They have been in business for 25 years, and carry a wide range of products for your choosing. Amber’s started out as a fresh floral shop, but has evolved into a multi-product general store. They carry fresh flowers, gourmet foods, a large kitchen section, local handcrafts, giftware and many more items.

www.ambers.biz

(705) 647 7687

10 Armstrong Street, New Liskeard

Armstrong on Whitewood

Artisan Gallery showcasing artwork, pottery, jewellery and giftware.

www.facebook.com/ArmstrongOnWhitewood

 

(705) 647 8800

43 Whitewood Ave. New Liskeard

Chat Noir Books & Café

Stop by the bookstore or café to experience a one of a kind shopping experience. From the most recent releases to self help books, they have every interest covered. Enjoy an espresso from their free trade coffee bar as well. There is something for everyone at Chat Noir.

www.chatnoirbooks.com

(705) 647 8215

57 Whitewood Ave, New Liskeard

Earl, Giant Bison

Earl is an all steel welded sculpture of the North American Bison and can be found along Highway 11 in Earlton

 

(705) 647 5771

Hwy 11N Earlton

Image result for Laura’s Art Shoppe cobalt

Laura’s Art Shoppe

Showcasing local artwork, custom framing, and giftware.

www.laurasartshoppe.com

(705) 629-0030

37 Silver St. Cobalt

Ms. Claybelt, Giant Holstein Cow

Ms. Claybelt, also known as, “The Cow” is a 12-foot high, 18-foot long Holstein cow that symbolizes the significance of agriculture to the Temiskaming District.

 

(705) 647 5771

Tourist Information Centre

North Cobalt Flea Market

The Flea Market features 12 000 square feet of merchandise. Including close out deals and surplus merchandise. The store is jam packed with interesting sale items and unique sections for everyone’s interests.

 

(705) 672 5848

96 King St. North Cobalt

Simply Country by Wendy

If you're looking for that unique piece, come visit SIMPLY COUNTRY, our handcrafted furniture will enhance the elegance to any room of your home or cottage. Each piece of furniture is crafted to give the feeling of timeless country, we also have handcrafted decor.

www.facebook.com/pages/SIMPLY-COUNTRY-by-Wendy/139497886914

(705) 622 1401

858009 Short Street, Cobalt

Temagami Fire Tower

The 100' high Temagami Fire Tower stands on the summit of Caribou Mountain, 400' above the town and 1300' above sea level. the tower commands a view in excess of 40 kilometers, overlooking Finlayson Provincial Park, the White Bear Forest with its stands of old growth pine and the town's Portage Bay with its floatplane base and water traffic. Remnants of the historic Ferguson Highway and the sites of old mining and logging operations can also be identified.

www.temagamivacation.com/firetwr.htm

(800) 661 7609

Temagami Info Centre, Temagami

Riverside Farmer’s Market

Come out and enjoy fresh produce, baking, crafts, jewellery, delicious breakfast, local eggs and so much more. Join us every Saturday from 8 a.m. to noon inside Riverside Place beside the scenic Wabi River in New Liskeard. The season runs from the first Saturday in June until the last Saturday in October.

www.facebook.com/theriversidefarmersmarket

(705) 647 5771

55 Riverside Dr New Liskeard

The Foto Shop & Spirit of the Arts Gallery

Featuring local artwork from artists around the Temiskaming Shores area. Stop in the shop for a great custom experience made just for you.

www.fotoshopnorth.ca

(705) 647 5436

32 Lakeshore Road N New Liskeard

Image

The Match Factory

The Match Factory draws from and is supported by a diverse group of people, all brought together by a love of home working to build their own reality in the North as independent creative individuals. Alterations, yarn, & DMC.

 

(705) 647 5436

32 Lakeshore Road N., New Liskeard

The Quilting Barn

A great stop on your tours around Temiskaming. The Quilting Barn has numerous items for quilters as well as giftware, wood, paints, house decor and fabrics.

www.thequiltingbarn.ca

(705) 647 0081

097460 Jelly Rd New Liskeard

The Silver Moccasin

Check out this Native arts and crafts store located in the Town of Cobalt. Selling unique and authentic Canadian made Native arts and crafts.

www.silvermoccasin.com/

(705) 679 5353

36 Silver Street Cobalt

Thornloe Cheese Factory

Cheese production for over 70 years! Come and try their award winning cheese and cheese products at this unique taste of Temiskaming hot spot.

www.thornloecheese.ca

(705) 647 7441

Hwy 11 N Thornloe

World’s Shortest Covered Bridge

Located at the creek crossing in Latchford, the bridge is 11 feet, 3 inches long and only covers 4 feet of water. It can hold one lane of traffic and one walk way for pedestrians.

 

(705) 676 2416

Main Street, Latchford

Marinas

Haileybury Marina

The Haileybury Marina and Harbour Place have seasonal and transient docking facilities. Water and hydro hookups are available at most slips as well as shower and washroom facilities

 

(705) 672 5889 451

Farr Drive Haileybury

Waterfront Marina – John’s Tackle Box

The New Liskeard Marina has seasonal and transient docking facilities. Water and hydro hookups are available at most slips as well as shower and washroom facilities John’s Tackle Box, providing a full line of fishing tackle, live bait, hunting supplies, clothing & accessories is on-site.

(705) 647 0010

1 Whitewood Ave., New Liskeard

Maille’s Marine & Service Centre

Snowmobile and Marine Sales & Service

 

(705) 647 5120

40 May Street, New Liskeard

Northern Sports & Marine

Small Engine Repair Shop - repairing all makes and models of boats, snowmobiles, ATV's, small engines located in the Waterfront Marina.

 

(705) 648 5952

1 Whitewood Ave., New Liskeard

Museums, Galleries & Entertainment

The Bunker Military Museum

The Bunker Military Museum opened to the public in 1990 in the old Ontario Northland train station in Cobalt but its humble beginnings stretch back to the end of WW2. James "Jim" Jones returned from active service in 1945 with an assortment of artifacts and memorabilia and his collection grew until he ran out of display space in his basement. In 2012 The collection of Jim's was moved to its present location, a specially designed building meeting all museum standards. The Bunker Military Museum is one of the largest galleries in the north with a unique collection of military artifacts dating from the Boer War to present day conflicts. Memorabilia from Canada, United States of America, France, Germany, Russia, Italy and many other nations is proudly displayed and identified in both official languages. The Bunker is wheelchair accessible.

www.bunkermilitarymuseum.ca

(705) 679 5191

24 Prospect Ave., Cobalt

Charlton-Dack Heritage Centre

Come explore over 100 years of history at the Charlton Heritage Centre. Charlton’s Heritage Centre is one of the oldest buildings in town with a unique heritage of its own. It was built in 1909 to serve as Dack’s town hall, courthouse and jail. It is open during the summer months and still has its original jail cells and box stove.

 

(705) 544 7525

Charlton

Image result for Little Claybelt Homesteaders Museum

Little Claybelt Homesteaders Museum

Founded in 1974 this museum offers unique insight into the history of the region. Pioneer life from the 1800’s to early 1950’s. The Structure of the museum is modeled after the Shepherdson Wood Pump and Vasket Works which was originally located on Shepherdson Road. The LCHM represents the homesteaders who developed the area. It is dedicated to the pioneers and strives to collect, archive, document and display as many of their artifacts, stories, histories and memories as possible.

www.claybeltmuseum.ca

(705) 647 9575

883356 Hwy 65 New Liskeard

Cobalt Mining Museum

This museum holds one of the more unique collections of historic mine materials and artifacts in North America. It houses a collection of rare photographs and early newspapers, such as the Cobalt Nugget and the Northern Miner that document the history of the Mining Camp and the people of Cobalt. Over the years, yards of rare mining books, ledgers and government manuals have been preserved and are made readily available to researchers, historians, and the public. For children there is the Miniature Mining Camp exhibit and other curiosities like the Glow in the Dark Rock Room. The museum includes a specialty silver gift shop and a dedicated art gallery.

www.cobalt.ca/visitors

(705) 679 8301

24 Silver Street, Cobalt

Cobalt Northern Ontario Firefighters Museum

The Cobalt Firefighters Museum was created by former Fire Chief, Leo Arbour, as a historic tribute to the many brave and courageous firemen of the Cobalt and Coleman Volunteer Fire Brigades. Throughout the history of Cobalt, the town suffered many devastating fires with the largest and most famous one occurring in 1977, which led to an enormous amount of media attention. The Cobalt Firefighters Museum, situated in downtown Cobalt, boasts over 1000 artifacts, gathered from all around the Province of Ontario. Most artifacts date back to the early 1900's, but also showcased, are modern day firefighting equipment. The museum's prized possession is a fire wagon and fire wagon reel making it a must see for the entire family.

www.cobalt.ca

(705) 679 8805

22 Lang Street, Cobalt

Haileybury Heritage Museum

Founded in 1983 to commemorate the Great Fire of 1922, the Haileybury Heritage Museum features a fully restored 1904 Toronto Railway Co. Streetcar used as housing after The Great Fire of 1922, a Ruggles 1922 fire pumper, the tugboat “M.V. Beauchene”, an Ontario Northland Railway caboose, and displays on famed hockey player Art Ross and first Ghostwriter of the Hardy Boys, Leslie McFarlane. The heritage and history of Haileybury comes alive through the extensive photograph collection and artifact display. Haileybury’s recorded history is dated from 1889 when it’s founder Charles Cobbold Farr began his settlement.

www.haileyburyheritagemuseum.ca

(705) 672 1922

575 Main Street, Haileybury

Elk Lake Heritage Museum

This community museum and archives interprets the history of the Elk Lake area. Displays relate the history of the local mining, logging, lumbering and agricultural industries, as well as that of the area's schools and churches. Early Canadian artifacts and memorabilia from World Wars I and II are also exhibited.

 

(705) 678 2223

Elk Lake

Englehart & Area Historical Museum

The oldest and tallest building in Englehart as it was the original Englehart Public School building built in 1909. The museum has three floors and over 17,000 artifacts from prehistoric to early 20th century times. The Exhibition Room is available for Art Exhibits during the operating season with the displays changing every three weeks.

www.englehart.ca/node/25

 

(705) 544 2400

67 6th Avenue, Englehart

House of Memories Museum / Loggers Hall of Fame

Take a stroll down memory lane in this ten bedroom historic house in Latchford. Learn about the early 1900’s all the way to present. The Department of lands and Forests (Ontario), built this house nearly 75 years ago for the Chief Ranger, Mr. Phil Hoffman and his family. The outbuildings, still in place today, included a bunkhouse for the Fire Rangers and other employees. The large building known as the Loggers Hall of Fame was a garage for the Department's trucks and equipment.

www.latchford.ca/attractions/

(705) 648 0056

72 Main Street, Hwy 11, Latchford

Temagami Train Station

The Temagami Train Station, built in 1903, is not your average terminal. This historical edifice has faced the harsh elements of the north, as well several different fires and undergone a number of renovations. To add to what makes this place so unique is the array of laser-cut wood products on display and available as souvenirs.

 

(705) 569 2500

Hwy 11, Temagami

Redstone Garden and Driving Range and Miniature Automobile Gallery

Not just a scenic driving range in a picturesque garden setting. Visit the miniature automobile gallery, showcasing over 3000 of the cars you remember. Fun for the whole family!

 

(705) 672 1684

583250 West Road South, Haileybury

Temiskaming Art Gallery

Founded in the early 1970’s and located at the City Hall, this gallery exhibits the talents of local artists and has an excellent permanent collection which includes the work of significant northern artists for public viewing in a brand new arts facility. It provides innovative art education for all ages.

www.temiskamingartgallery.ca

(705) 672 3706

325 Farr Drive, Haileybury

Mezzanine Gallery

In the mid 90’s the Classic Theater decided to dedicate the space to fine arts as well as the performing arts, thus creating a beautiful venue to hold receptions, exhibitions as well as something visual for guests of the theater to enjoy during intermissions.

 

(705) 948 0434

Calvin Knight

Classic Theatre

Take in a great live performance, play, band or local talent at the Cobalt Classic Theatre. Founded in 1926, the Classic Theatre has provided Cobalt and the surrounding region with live entertainment for more than half a century. They frequently host prominent Canadian musical and comedic performers and produce outstanding theatrical productions through their junior theatre program in the summer and through community theatre. Check out their website for a full listing of current events :

www.classictheatre.net

(705) 679 8080

30 Silver St., Cobalt

Empire Cinema Twins Theatre

New releases played weekly, 2 theatres to choose from. Nightly showings at 7:30pm and matinees during the summer months at 2pm.

www.nt.net/empire

(705) 647 5363

35 Armstrong St., New Liskeard

 

Parks, Hiking & Tours

Bucke Park

Located on Lake Temiskaming, south of Haileybury, Bucke Park is a municipal tent and trailer park open from May to October. It has 34 sites with electrical hook-ups, a concession booth, showers and a large waterfront area providing fishing, swimming, boat launching and access to walking trails including the scenic Devil's Rock.

 

1 Concession, Bucke, Haileybury

(705) 672 2611

Devil’s Rock Hiking Trail

Devil’s Rock is a three-hundred foot cliff that allows outdoor enthusiasts a spectacular bird’s-eye view of beautiful Lake Temiskaming as well as the province of Quebec. The face of the devil may be seen in the shape of the rock formations. There are five tunnels in the cliff from rock blasting that took place between 1907- 1912. To reach the summit of this 2,200 million year old precipice, you begin to hike the 3-4 kilometre trail, starting at the municipal Bucke Park in Temiskaming Shores.

 

Tourism Information Centre, New Liskeard

(705) 647 5771

Dr. Pollard Poetry Park

The Dr. Pollard Poetry Park is Northern Ontario's only park dedicated to preserving the memory and legacy of poetry hall of fame inductees Dave MacLaren, John Gore, Muriel E. Newton-White. Dedication plaques have been placed for all the poets including two honorary 19th century poets who ventured north, Dr. William Henry Drummond and Archibald Lampman.


18 Grandview Street, Cobalt

(705) 679 8930

Heritage Silver Trail

The Heritage Silver Trails is a self-guided drive along the back roads of Cobalt and through some of the more historical mining sites in the camp. A six kilometre loop within the existing road system east of Cobalt Lake provides typical examples of mining at the turn of the century. Five principal sites were chosen to illustrate the many features associated with mining in the early 1900's. Through a system of billboards, route markers, site signs and information points, the visitor is able to travel through the past and experience the history of the Cobalt mining camp

www.cobalt.ca/visitors

24 Silver Street, Cobalt

(705) 679 8301

Kap-Kig-Iwan Provincial Park

The Englehart River plunges down whitewater rapids, over a waterfall (Kap-Kig-Iwan in Ojibway), past rugged rock outcrops, through deep ravines and by flats of colourful wildflowers in this picturesque park near Englehart. Hiking, bird watching and spring fishing are excellent. Bonus: no blackflies.


Kap-Kig-Iwan Road, Hwy 11, Englehart

(705) 544 2050

Neighbourwoods Trails

Neighbourwoods Trails comprise 6.5 km of all-season, all-purpose trails. Enjoy trekking through immature boreal forest, over hill, dale and wet land, along the Tower trail to the highest point in Latchford. These trails are on Crown Land within the Municipality of Latchford.


Off Murphy Mill Road, Latchford

(705) 676 2416

Nastawagan Trails

The Nastawagan Trail System is 2400km of interconnected canoe routes. Nastawagan is the Ojibwa word for traditional travel routes and was developed by the Anishinawbeg / First Nation people thousands of years ago. For the most part these trails still exist today for all outdoor enthusiasts and adventurers.

www.nastawgantrails.org

Information Centre, Temagami

(800) 661 7609

Old Mission Historic Plaque

In 1836 a Catholic mission was established directly across the lake at Fort Timiskaming, a Hudson's Bay Company post, where by 1842 a chapel had been completed. The mission was moved to this site in 1863 and a presbytery was constructed by the Oblates who had commenced missionary work in the region in 1844. A second presbytery was built here in 1867. The Grey Sisters of Ottawa, who had arrived the previous year, then established the first hospital of the Timiskaming District in the old presbytery. In 1878 a frame church, known as St. Claude's, was completed. However, in 1887 the mission was moved to the growing agricultural settlement of Ville Marie in Quebec.


Tourism Information Centre, New Liskeard

(705) 647 5771

New Liskeard Boardwalk

Visit downtown New Liskeard and take a stroll along our 5 km boardwalk on beautiful Lake Temiskaming. The waterfront boardwalk features extensive views of Lake Temiskaming along beach and parklands.


Waterfront Area, New Liskeard

(705) 647 5709

Rock Walk Park – Northern College

Rock Walk Park is an outdoor geological garden designed to provide a park-like setting located in Haileybury. A key feature of the park is the inclusion of cultural displays depicting the role that rocks and minerals have played through human history. The exhibits are arranged according to theme throughout the park. This park/trail is wheelchair accessible using minimal incline brick pathways throughout the walk.


Latchford Street, Haileybury

(705) 672 3376

Sir Norman Keevil Walking Trail

Around Cobalt Lake. The trail is named for Sir Norman Keevil, founder of the Silverfield’s Mining Co. which would develop into a Canadian mining giant, Teck Cominco Limited.


1 Station Street, Cobalt

(705) 679 5191

STATO Trail

Non-motorized trail from North Cobalt to New Liskeard. Enjoy scenic views along Lake Temiskaming. Home of the annual Haunted Hustle marathon.

www.stato.ca

Temiskaming Shores

(705) 647 6645

Temagami White Bear Forest Hiking Trails at Caribou Mountain

The White Bear Forest Trail system offers many hikes to outdoor enthusiasts of all levels.


Jack Guppy Way, Temagami

(800) 661 7609

Hilliardton Marsh

The Hilliardton Marsh is inhabited by over 600 species of waterfowl, songbirds, mammals, fish and plant life. This area is a popular one for migrating waterfowl. The marsh has a boardwalk and makes an ideal spot for bird watching or for a casual stroll. Over 23 duck species have been sighted.


Tourism Information Centre, New Liskeard

(705) 647 5771

Hills Lake Fish Culture Station

Visit the fish culture station to learn about fish, and wildlife conservation. By reservation only.


Hills Lake Road, Hwy 560, Englehart

(705) 544 8006

Pete’s Dam Park

In the Spring of 1906, Kalil (Big Pete) Farah embarked upon a project to build a steam power plant that would supply the Town of New Liskeard. Big Pete bought the power site at Chester Falls from Tom Chester and a dam was built above these falls on the south branch of the Wabi River. In 1910, Farah sold Pete's Dam and its assets to the Northern Ontario Light and Power Company. New Liskeard then received its power from the lines that linked them to Cobalt, its neighbour to the south. The exact date the power plant went out of service is unknown, but it is believed that it was in the 1920s. The Northern Ontario Power Company sold its assets to the Hydro Electric Power Commission of Ontario which included Pete's Dam. In 1981, Dymond Township bought the property and it is now known as Pete's Dam Park. The little electric plant no longer exists, but the beauty of the waterfall and rapids draws many locals and visitors for picnicking and hiking.


Tourism Information Centre, New Liskeard

(705) 647 5771

Ghost of the Hardy Boys Tour

Leslie McFarlane, the first author of the Hardy Boys, grew up in Haileybury and later returned to write 11 of the renowned series in the town. The tour of where he lived and points of interest begins at the Museum.


Haileybury Heritage Museum, 575 Main Street, Haileybury

(705) 672 1922

Colonial Adit Underground Mine Tour

For a unique underground experience, take the time to go on the underground tour at the Colonial Mine. Tours start at the Mining Museum, and are guided by museum staff. The narrow damp tunnels of the mine give a real appreciation for the conditions under which miners worked, and tour guides sprinkle the tour with many stories to help bring the past to life.


24 Silver Street, Cobalt

(705) 679 8301

Englehart River Walking Trail

The trail is a 5.7 kilometer scenic hike which runs adjacent to the Englehart River right in the heart of Central Timiskaming.


Along Englehart River, Englehart

(705) 544 8200

Lake Temiskaming Tour

A scenic tour by motorcycle, car or RV around Lake Temiskaming. Experience one lake, two provinces and three cultures.


Tourism Information Centre, New Liskeard

(705) 647 5771

Millionaire’s Row - Historic Walking Tour

They say 14 of the 35 millionaires made from the Silver Rush in nearby Cobalt lived here. These stately homes escaped the ravages of the Great fire of 1922.

 

575 Main Street, Haileybury

(705) 672 1922

Other Park Areas:

New Liskeard Cenotaph

Cobalt Municipal Park

Riverside Park

Haileybury Cenotaph

“Miss Claybelt” Cow Park

New Liskeard Spur Line

New Liskeard Beach

Rotary Farr Park

Dymond Recreation Park

Algonquin Beach Park

New Liskeard Look-Out on Hwy 11 South

Mini Putt Park Harbour Place

Pools & Beaches

Earlton Municipal Public Pool

Enjoy this outdoor pool on a hot day! Full service pool, with on duty lifeguards, change rooms and parking.

(705) 563 2375

7th Avenue, Earlton

Lee Public Pool

The Town of Englehart has an outdoor swimming pool that host swimming lessons and public swimming from June to September. It is one of the main gathering places for young people in the summer.

 

(705) 544 2332

41 First St., Englehart

New Liskeard Spur Line Beach Area & Algonquin Beach Park

Enjoy walking, swimming, picnicking, playing on the playground, tennis courts, or basketball court. New Liskeard beach is located on the shore of Lake Temiskaming in downtown New Liskeard. It offers a one mile long beach and boardwalk, beach volleyball courts, basketball courts, baseball fields and public tennis courts.

 

(705) 647 5709

Waterfront Area, New Liskeard

 

 

Waterfront Pool & Fitness Centre

The New Liskeard Swimming Pool is located in downtown New Liskeard and features a 25 meter leisure pool with a 100’ water slide, a sauna and a whirlpool. The pool is supervised by qualified lifeguards at all times

 

(705) 647 5709

7 Wellington St., New Liskeard

 

 

Haileybury Beach & Outdoor Waterslide

Enjoy a fully serviced man made pool on beautiful Lake Temiskaming. This beach is approximately 100 meters square and is fully supervised during summer months. It also features a 150’ waterslide; a water fountain, and a water umbrella and kiddie pool nicknamed “the mushroom”.

 

(705) 672 5057
Main Street, Haileybury

 

 

Bass Lake

Bass Lake Bass Lake Resort has a public beach, a playground, a ballpark, camping ground, trailer lots and rental cottages. It’s located off of Highway 11B, down Bass Lake Road. A spring fed lake and sandy beach make Bass Lake a family favourite.

 

(705) 679 8648

877760 Bass Lake Rd. Coleman Twp.

 

 

Latchford Waterfront

Visit the Latchford waterfront and enjoy a day on the beach! Have a picnic under the sheltered pavilion, take a stroll on the boardwalk or fish off the dock and catch a big one! Let the kid's play on the playground while you relax and take in the beautiful scenery of Bay Lake.

 

(705) 676 2416

Via King Street, Latchford

Sports & Recreation

Haileybury Golf Club

Haileybury Golf Club Created in 1921, and one of Ontario’s oldest golf clubs, this challenging 9 hole course can entice the youngest to oldest golfer out there. The scenery surrounding this 3000 yard 9-hole golf course is simply spectacular. Whether you are a serious or recreational golfer, Haileybury Golf Club offers a balance of challenges and pleasures to suit anyone’s game.
www.haileyburygolfclub.com

(705) 672 3455

800 Latchford St., Haileybury

Image result for marinello schools of beauty

New Liskeard Golf Club

Established in 1967 this course is one of the premier golf courses in Northern Ontario. This is an 18 hole golf facility, surrounded by beautiful farmland. Complete with a driving range, 2 putting/chipping greens, a licensed Clubhouse and a Pro Shop on site, it’s no surprise that it’s one of the most popular courses in Northern Ontario.

www.nlgc.ca

(705) 647 6651

804027 Golf Course Rd., New Liskeard

Redstone Garden and Driving Range and Miniature Automobile Gallery

A scenic driving range in a picturesque garden setting. Self serve golf ball dispenser – open daily. Also visit the miniature automobile gallery, over 3000 of the cars you remember. Fun for the whole family!

(705) 672 1684

583250 West Road South, Haileybury

New Liskeard Waterfront Mini Putt

Check out this great family fun mini putt located in the heart of Temiskaming Shores along beautiful Lake Temiskaming.

 

(705) 647 4121

1 Fleming Dr., New Liskeard

Cobalt Haileybury Curling Club

More than 100 years ago, the Cobalt Haileybury Curling Club was formed and has been going strong ever since. This six-sheet surface features mens, womens and mixed leagues as well as Junior and “Little Rocks” programs for kids.

www.nt.net/chcc

 

(705) 672 3515

432 Leslie McFarlane Haileybury

Elk Lake Ski Club

Elk Lake offers a wide variety of trails at their ski club. Approximately 15km of groomed picturesque boreal forest.


(705) 679 6106

Dorothy Farmiloe, Elk Lake

Englehart Nordic Ski Club

Englehart Nordic Ski Club was established in 1979 and has since provided and maintained 12km of groomed cross country ski trails and an open chalet for recreational skiers and other people.


(705) 544 8196

Along Englehart River, Englehart

user78user78

Horne Granite Curling Club

The newly renovated Horne Granite Curling Club hosts daytime and evening leagues for men’s, women’s and mixed teams.


(705) 647 4422 44

Whitewood Ave., New Liskeard

user78

Latchford Paintball

Paintball games and supplies. Rentals available, group booking welcome.


(705) 676 2149

16 King St. Latchford

cajosleighcajosleighcajosleigh

Les Promenades CAJO Sleigh Rides

Enjoy a horse drawn sleigh ride, to a bonfire and sliding hill. Great Family Fun! Group bookings welcome.

 

(705) 647 8457

Hwy 65 West, New Liskeard

Temiskaming and Region Model Aircraft Club

Members enjoy building and flying a variety of model aircrafts and helicopters. Some have boats, float planes and pontoons.

 

 

Box 1995, New Liskeard

Temiskaming Nordic Ski Club

This ski club offers 18 km of well-marked classic ski trails on beautiful rolling esker terrain for the beginner or experienced skier. Also included is a large heated log chalet with indoor washrooms, kitchen, and change rooms.

www.temiskamingnordic.ca

(705) 679 5106

Portage Bay Rd. Cobalt

Temiskaming Shores Sailing School

A community sailing school promoting the sport of sailing and offering both youth and adults the opportunity to acquire and develop their sailing skills while providing affordable access to sailboats.

www.ts3.ca

(705) 647 1325

Farr Drive, Haileybury

Tri-Town Bowling Lanes

League and recreational bowling, snack bar, licensed under L.L.B.O., corporate parties, birthday parties and black light bowling

 

(705) 672 3117 331

Main St., Haileybury

logo flag

Tri-Town Power and Sail Squadron

Local branch of the Canada wide organization offering boating safety courses,

www.nt.net/tspssquad

(705) 647 4010

Tri-Town Ski & Snowboard Village

Originated in the 1960’s as the St Bernard Ski Club, the Tri-Town Ski & Snowboard Village has been a family favourite ever since. The hill has a 320 foot vertical, with trails to suit all level of skier and features scenic views over Lorrain Valley and Lake Temiskaming.

www.tritownskivillage.com

(705) 672 3888

Lorrain Valley, Hwy. 567, North Cobalt

Tri-Town Sno Travellers

Formed in 1968 to provide information and driver training and later expanded to provide grooming of local trails. In 1991, the Club signed up with the OFSC and the trails became part of the province wide trail system for all to enjoy! The Tri-Town Sno Travellers are part of the 11 volunteer snowmobile clubs of the Timiskaming Abitibi Trail Association which maintain trail systems that stretch from Temagami, north to Iroquois Falls and from Chapleau, east to Kearns.

 

(705) 647 4010

487 Brazeau Blvd, New Liskeard ON

ATV'ing in South Temiskaming

ATV'ING In South Temiskaming

To begin your ATV excursion, please visit our website www.tsacc.ca, for a full list and links to the local events, accommodations and attractions in Temiskaming Shores and area. A printed information package can be mailed directly to your home or e-mail address. Just send an e-mail to chamber@ntl.sympatico.ca

Here are some of the ATV highlights in the South Temiskaming Area:

ORGANIZATIONS:

There are no formal ATV organizations in our area; however there is strong interest and several avid enthusiasts.

ROAD USE:

ATV’s, which are licensed & insured, are allowed on most side streets (not the main streets, sidewalks or municipal parks or property) in the City of Temiskaming Shores.

Cobalt and Coleman have separate bylaws. You may want to contact their separate municipal town offices at: Cobalt town office: (705) 679-8894 Coleman township office: (705) 679-8833.

We encourage residents and tourists to contact the local MNR office at (705) 647-6988 about access and restrictions or should you require more information.

MAPS:

One of the best maps for local ATV enthusiasts is the MITIG Map ”Fishing, Boating, Snowmobiling & Camping in the North Bay and Temagami areas”, with the North Bay and area on one side, and Temagami through New Liskeard on the other. It highlights lakes, trails, roads, townships, and allowed ATV use within Special Management Areas. Please visit their website at www.mitig.com

FAVOURITE TRAILS:

-Please watch for signs depicting if this is a deemed ATV area or if there is denied access. (ie, Back end of Red Squirrel System, small portions of Rabbit Lake Road, etc.- watch the active cut areas in this area as well these may make some spots off limits or rough terrain)

-One of the favourite local spots is the Lorrain and South Lorrain Townships. Accessible via Hwy 567 just south of North Cobalt. This will take you to the Montreal River where it flows into Lake Temiskaming, along Hound Chute and Ragged Chute Road. Very historical and occasional deserted mines are along these trails, lots of interesting stops that you can make. Good spots to camp, swim and pick berries, with a breath taking outdoor landscape surrounding you.

-Other areas include the many roads, trails, and fire access roads along Portage Bay Road. This is just across Hwy. 11, starting at the 11-B entrance to Cobalt in Coleman Township.

-Things to see may be Bass Lake or Gillies Lake access roads. Maps for any access roads can be found at The Temiskaming Shores and Area Chamber of Commerce located beside the “cow” in New Liskeard.

-Beauty Lake Road just outside Elk Lake is another very popular ATV’ing trail system. A very good spot to stay is the Long Point Lodge, and ATV the Beauty Lake area. You can spend days there, and never travel the same trail twice.

-In Temagami and surrounding area, Rabbit Lake Road is very popular for Temagami local trails and vacation spots please contact The Temagami Chamber of Commerce at: 1-800-661-7609 (toll-free) or e-mail them at: cofc@temagami.ca

 

CONTACT INFORMATION:

Temiskaming Shores and Area Chamber of Commerce and the

Temiskaming Shores Tourism Information Centre

T: 705.647.5771 or 1.866.947.5753 (Toll-Free)

info@tsacc.ca www.tsacc.ca

P.O. Box 811, 883356 Hwy.65 East, New Liskeard, ON P0J 1P0

Proudly promoting Earlton, Temiskaming Shores (Dymond, New Liskeard, Haileybury), Cobalt, Coleman, Latchford, Elk Lake and the South Temiskaming Area.

MNR, Peter Gilboe, Conservation Officer - 705-647-6988

Rob Pucini, Elk Lake Work N Play - 705-678-2254

Pete's Small Engines - 705-647-0004

Kevin McNamara, Local ATV Enthusiast www.mudhole.ca

Rallies, Poker Runs, Personal Rides, GPS links, Events, Dialogue 705-647-8832

Local ATV Dealers & Service contacts:

Green Tractors (705-563-2134)

Northern Sports & Marine (705-647-8533)

Maille’s Marine (705-647-5120)

Tri-Town Motorsports (705-647-1255)

T.I.M.E. (705-647-8138)

Temagami Marine (705-569-3221)

Waterfront Marina – John’s Tackle Box (705-647-0010)

MITIG Forestry Services Ltd., maps (705-788-0711)



883356 Hwy 65 West, P.O. Box 811
New Liskeard, ON, Canada P0J 1P0
PH: 705.647.5771 or 866.947.5753    FX: 705.647.8633
Copyright © 2017 Temiskaming Shores & Area Chamber of Commerce